Residents of Missouri can now apply for medical marijuana cards. But it will probably be another 6- to 9-months before dispensaries selling cannabis and CBD products start cropping up in the “show me” state. That’s because the dispensary licence application process doesn’t get started until August, and the state has until year-end to approve or reject those applications. Only then can approved firms start to grow and stock cannabis products for sale.
A recent article in the St. Joseph (MO) News Press quoted a would-be dispensary owner speculating that the first dispensaries won’t be positioned to open for business until March or April 2020.
Missouri’s medical marijuana law, enacted in 2018, allows patients to be prescribed cannabis for a litany of physical and mental maladies. Individuals with medical marijuana licenses can purchase up to 4 ounces of cannabis in any 30-day period. They also are allowed to cultivate up to 6 flowering plants at a time “in a closed, locked facility.” Patients that don’t want to or can’t tend plants themselves can place cannabis plants with a licensed dispensary to grow on their behalf.
The application fee for medical marijuana licenses in Missouri is $25. Patients must be re-evaluated every 6 months.
As is the case in many states, Missouri’s medical marijuana law requires all cannabis products sold in the state be grown in the state.
Do you operate a cannabis dispensary? Are you planning to apply for a dispensary license from the state of Missouri? If the answer to either of these questions is yes, then you need a payment processing partner that understands the state-regulated cannabis industry. You need Paybotic on your team!
To learn how we can help call (844) 420-4729 or leave us a message here.